Scandinavian Adventure

Scandinavian Adventure

The term Scandinavia always includes the three kingdoms of Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. The remote Norwegian islands of Svalbard and Jan Mayen are usually not seen as a part of Scandinavia, nor is Greenland, an overseas territory of Denmark. However, the Faroe Islands, also a Danish overseas territory, are sometimes included, as sometimes are Iceland, Finland, and the Finnish autonomous region of the Åland Islands, because of their historical association with the Scandinavian countries and the Scandinavian peoples and languages.


This looser definition almost equates to that of the Nordic countries. In Nordic languages, only Denmark, Norway and Sweden are commonly included in the definition of Scandinavia.

Older Post Newer Post

  • amazing!

    frank on
  • Awesome pics! Reallllly want to go there one day!

    Melanie G on

Leave a comment